India: National Academy of Agricultural Sciences honors IRRI officials

 Vijaya Kumar Marthi   |  


 NAAS welcomes IRRI officials to the Fellowship on 5 June 2015

NAAS honors IRRI officials and welcomes them to the Fellowship on 5 June 2015

Robert Zeigler, director general of the International Rice Research Institute (IRRI) and Arvind Kumar, IRRI senior scientist, were admitted to the Fellowship of the National Academy of Agricultural Sciences. Both scientists have been elected to the Fellowship in recognition of their significant contributions to the agricultural sciences in India.

Kumar received the Fellowship citation and Certificate of the Academy at the ceremony held on 5 June in New Delhi while Zeigler was admitted in absentia. Prof. M.S. Swaminathan, founding president of the academy and former IRRI director general (1982-1988), presented the awards.

Vijaya Kumar Marthi, manager of the IRRI office in India was also recognized at the silver jubilee celebration of the academy. Marthi was cited for his services rendered to the academy in various capacities, including head of the academy secretariat from 2002 to 2008.

Guests at the event included Dr. S. Ayyappan, current president of the academy and a member of the IRRI Board of Trustees, and Prof. R.B. Singh and Prof. V.Ll Chopra, both past presidents of the academy.

The National Academy of Agricultural Sciences provides scientists with a forum to deliberate on important issues of agricultural research, education and extension, and to present views of the scientific community to policy planners and decision makers at various levels.

Leave A Response